Welcome to Tytherington.com - your guide to what's on in and around Tytherington, South Gloucestershire.

Richard Cornock of New House Farm has a book out - see the village shop page for the story, or click the image to see the book on Amazon.


Vote for BUST's Pink Glove Dance

Staff and patients from the Bristol Breast Care Centre at Southmead Hospital are hoping to dance their way to victory in the 2015 European Pink Glove Dance Competition. A prize fund of €8,000 is up for grabs and the dancers want to win it for BUST (Breast-cancer Unit Support Trust).
To win the money, the video simply needs to gain the most votes. Click below to watch and vote for them for free - voting runs through Breast Cancer Awareness month until 26th October 2015.


Free Stoptober support for smokers

Stoptober - the 28 day stop smoking challenge – is back.
Sign up to receive free and proven support including packs, apps and emails to help you quit for 28 days and beyond. Face-to-face advice and support can also be obtained from your local Stop Smoking Service, Smokefree South Gloucestershire, which is on hand to provide you with tailored advice, hints and tips on how to quit. For more information, or to book your place, click below.


Don’t take the gamble with lottery fraud

South Glos Trading Standards are reminding us to stay vigilant when receiving letters indicating we have won a lottery, after new letters and emails using the 2016 Rio Olympics as a theme.
The scams try to trick people into believing they have won hundreds of thousands of pounds or a trip to Brazil and ask for a fee to process their winnings.
The advice is never to respond to any such communication. If you need help, contact the Citizens Advice Consumer Helpline on 03454 040506.

Changes to the Sort It centre

Sort It are making some changes to improve efficiency and deter non-residents and commercial users from using the sites.
From 1 October the opening times will change to 8.30am-4.30pm. These times will apply all year round, except Christmas Day, Boxing Day and New Year’s Day.
Other changes planned for 2016 include a resident vehicle registration scheme, and an electronic van permit scheme for all vans. Click below to read more...


Discover 2015: 10 Sept – 30 Oct

As the summer draws to a close, look forward to an exciting autumn with the Discover Festival. A packed programme of over 230 events, the festival brings together events from local community groups, businesses and council services – it’s your chance to discover something new this autumn throughout South Gloucestershire.
Throughout the festival there are events to promote health and well-being, opportunities to try something creative, visit our wonderful heritage or to get out and about in nature. Whatever your interest, you’ll find something to suit you.


Local information

MyThornbury.co.uk: Thornbury events, news, businesses, groups and organisations.

MyYate: Yate events and organisations.

The Cromhall Archive: an on-line library of old photos, maps and documents.

South Gloucestershire maps and links.


Monday 5th October 2015

Tuesday 6th October 2015

Thursday 8th October 2015

Saturday 10th October 2015

Wednesday 14th October 2015

Thursday 15th October 2015

Friday 16th October 2015

Saturday 17th October 2015

Monday 19th October 2015

Wednesday 21st October 2015

Thursday 22nd October 2015

Friday 23rd October 2015

Saturday 24th October 2015

Sunday 25th October 2015

Saturday 31st October 2015

Sunday 1st November 2015

Thursday 5th November 2015

Wednesday 11th November 2015

Saturday 14th November 2015

Click here for more events.

Memorial Woodlands: woodland cemetery and funeral directors